CALLERLAB APPLICATIONS REVIEW COMMITTEE  

March 14, 2017

© Copyright 2005-2017 by CALLERLAB Inc., The International Association of Square Dance Callers. Permission to reprint, republish, and create derivative works without royalty is hereby granted, provided this notice appears. Publication on the Internet of derivative works without royalty is hereby granted provided this notice appears. Permission to quote parts or all of this document without royalty is hereby granted, provided this notice is included. Information contained herein shall not be changed nor revised in any derivation or publication.

History
The CALLERLAB Board of Governors approved the formation of the Applications Review Committee (ARC) in 1998 to review the proper or improper usage of square dance calls. The committee is composed of knowledgeable callers from all over the world who review written requests from callers and/or dancers and decide as to the proper or improper application of these calls. All callers on this committee agree to abide by its decisions.

The committee is reactive rather than proactive. It accepts questions from either dancers or callers about proper and improper usage of any definitions or arrangements.

Submitting questions to the ARC
Questions for the ARC should be submitted to the CALLERLAB office by mail – 200 SW 30th St., Suite 104, Topeka, KS 66611; Phone – 785-783-3665 ; Fax – 785-783-3696; E-mail - CALLERLAB@aol.com.
Periodically the committee reviews and discusses all questions submitted to it, renders a decision, and publishes its decisions in the form of Press Releases.

Decisions
All decisions by the ARC have also been collected and are presented below in alphabetical order.

The committee will continue to review questions concerning proper or improper use of calls. We believe the decisions of this committee are having a positive impact on the activity by reducing the misuse of calls.


Acey Deucey

(August 2003)
Q: Is it proper to call ACEY DEUCY from a 3/4 Tag Formation?
A: No. The concept is too ambiguous and the dancers should not be expected to decide who the centers are. Those in the wave have both Centers and Ends, therefore it is too confusing.

(September/October 2004)
Q: From the formation of Twin/Parallel Diamonds, the call was given to "Acey Deucey."
A: Proper. This usage fits within the definition. The points of the Diamond are the ends and the centers of each Diamond are the centers.

(July 2006)
Q: Is it proper to call Acey Deucey from a 3/4 Tag formation?
A: Yes. The committee voted this to now be a proper use of the call. The new definition permits this usage as
there are four centers and four outside dancers. This ruling superceeds an earlier ruling by the ARC.

All 4 Couples Box The Gnat

(June 2008) (subsequently revised—see May 2014)
Q: The call is All 4 Couples Box The Gnat from a Static Square. The Question is: Does this application comply with the written CALLERLAB A-2 definition?
A: YES. The committee voted this application is proper at A-2, HOWEVER, callers and dancers are cautioned about its usage The dancers must back into their ending position and must be careful of the other dancers around them. The ending formation is a Static Square in the opposite persons position.

(May 2014)
Q. The formation was a Static Square. The call was "All Four Couples Box the Gnat."
A. In 2008, the ARC determined that this was proper. The new definition now states that "The right hands are still joined at the completion of the action." The ARC was required to re-review this application. Maintaining the handhold at the completion of the call now makes this application improper.

All 4 Couples Do Sa Do

(June 2008)
Q: The call is All 4 Couples Do Sa Do from a Static Square. The Question is: Does this application comply with the written CALLERLAB A-2 definition?
A: YES. The committee voted this would be proper at A-2 BUT with caution. Although this complies with the definition, it is NOT recommended as it DOES NOT DANCE WELL and could be dangerous. The ending formation is a Static Square.

All 8 Spin Chain Thru

(June 2008)
Q: From a Thar formation, the call given was All 8 Spin Chain Thru. The Question is: Does this application comply with the written CALLERLAB A-2 definition?
A: NO. The committee voted this application does not comply with any CALLERLAB definition.

All 8 Turn and Deal

(June 2008)
Q: From a Thar formation, the call given was All 8 Turn and Deal. The Question: Does this application comply with the written CALLERLAB A-1 definition?
A: YES. The committee voted YES, however, it should not be used at A-1 without a thorough workshop. It would be proper at A-2 without a workshop. The ending formation is Mini Waves in a Static Square position

All Eight Circulate

(June 2008)
Q: From a Completed Double Pass Thru formation, the call given was All Eight Circulate. The Question is: Does the application comply with the written CALLERLAB Basic Definition?
A: The Answer is NO, it does not meet the Basic definition; however, it would be proper at C-1 and beyond as it complies with the Challenge definition for 16 matrix. The ending formation would be Ocean Waves far apart and the right hand rule would apply to this application.

Cast A Shadow

(July/August 2005)
Q: Is it proper to call Cast A Shadow from back to back, out facing lines?
A: Improper. The definition clearly states that the end dancers must be in Tandem and this is not the case with this application.

Chain Down the Line

(January 2000)
Q: Would the call "Chain Down the Line 3/4" be an extension of "Chain Down the Line" from a quarter tag
formation with girls in the center? The same for "T" bone lines and diamonds?
A: Improper.

(May 2012)
The ARC made the following decision. "Chain Down the Line 3/4" and "3/4 Chain Down the Line" were determined to be the same call therefore, they are both improper in accordance with the ARC decision made in 2000.

Chain Reaction

(June 2008)
Q: Is it proper to call Chain Reaction from an "I" formation?
A: NO. The committee voted this is not proper because this application does not comply with the written CALLERLAB definitions

Checkmate The Column

(June 2008)
Q: From a Double Pass Thru formation, the call Checkmate The Column was given. The Question: Does this application comply with the written CALLERLAB A-2 definition?
A: YES. The committee voted this application is proper at A-2 as it complies with the definition. The ending formation is Lines Facing Out.
Q: From a Completed Double Pass Thru formation the call given was Checkmate The Column. The Questions is: Does this application comply with the written CALLERLAB A-2 definition?
A: YES. The committee voted this application is proper at A-2 as it complies with the definition. The ending formation is Facing Lines.

(May 2014)
Q: The formation was Eight Chain Thru. The call given was "Checkmate the Column."
A: This application was voted to be proper as it technically complies with the A-2 definition. It will probably require workshopping to point out and smooth out the "crashing" problems.

Circle To A Line

(September/October 2004)
Q: From a Double Pass Thru Formation with all centers being of the same sex, the call was "Centers Circle To A Line," and designate who is to break.
A: Improper. The definition sates that the "LEAD dancer in the couple who started on the inside (man's position) releases the left handhold." This cannot be determined with this usage.

Circulate Family

(November 2000)
Q: Would it be acceptable to call "Split Circulate" from a double pass thru formation?
A: No. Although this may be technically proper, it should not be used as an extension of split circulate as it introduces dancer confusion and bad body flow. The Committee believes it would be bad judgement to expose our dancers to this type usage of calls. We do not want square dancing to evolve in this direction.

(April 2002)
Q: Is it proper to call "Circulate" from a Tidal Wave?
A: No. This call does not comply with the definition as there is not a clear circulate path.

(July/August 2011)
Q: The Formation is Double Pass Thru and the call given was "All Eight Circulate Twice". The caller expected the dancers to stay in their columns, go straight ahead and end in a Completed Double Pass Thru Formation.
A: The ARC declared that this application does not comply with the CALLERLAB Basic-1 Definition and therefore is improper. The caller should have simply called Double Pass Thru. After the first Cir-culate, the dancers are in parallel waves. Therefore, another circulate would end in parallel waves.

(July/August 2011)
Q: Split Circulate: The Formation is Two Faced Lines and the call given was "All Eight Split Circu-late Double." The caller expected the leaders to Partner Trade and Pass Thru while the trailers Pass Thru and then Partner Trade.
A: The ARC voted that this application does not comply with the CALLERLAB Basic-1 definition and is therefore improper. However, the action described above can be achieved at the Advanced Program by virtue of the "Do your part" aspect provided the dancers understand the caller's intention.
 

Coordinate

(June 2008)
Q: From Facing Lines formation, the call given was Coordinate. The Question is: Does this application comply with the written CALLERLAB Plus Definition?
A: NO. The committee voted this application does not comply with ANY CALLERLAB definition and should not be used.

(June 2008)
Q: From Three and One Lines formation (the ends facing in and the centers in a right hand Mini Wave),and the call given was Coordinate. The Question is: Does this application comply with the written CALLERLAB Plus definition?
A: The committee voted YES, BUT, only from the 3 and 1 line formation and should NOT be used at Plus nor A-1/A-2 without a thorough workshop. It would be proper at C-1. The ending formation is Facing Diamonds.

(July/August 2011)
Q: The Formation is Facing Lines and the call given was "Coordinate."
A: This same question was reviewed by the ARC in 2008 and declared to be improper. It is still improper at Plus due to the fact it is restricted to "Columns Only" in that Program. The definition has since been revised and the ARC declared this application to now be proper at A-1. It has an un-usual ending formation that has not been named and callers must be aware of this as the very two center dancers end with their backs to the formation in what may be described as a "Weird Diamond."

Courtesy Turn

(September/October 2004)
Q: Is it proper or improper to do a Courtesy Turn from Half-sashayed couples and same sex couples at Mainstream (MS)?
A: Improper. The MS definition clearly limits this action to couples with man on left, woman on right.

Crossfire

(April 2002)
Q: Is "Crossfire" a four or eight dancer call?
A: This is a four dancer call everywhere except from back to back lines of four. The definition is quite clear in this regard.

Q: Is it proper to call "Crossfire" from back to back lines of four?
A: Yes.

Q: If so, at what program?
A: Plus.

Q: If so, is the resulting formation a 1/4 Tag or a Double Pass Thru?
A: 1/4 Tag. The definition is self-explanatory in this regard.

(June 2008)
Q: The call Crossfire was given from Facing Diamonds. The Question is: Does this application comply with the written CALLERLAB Plus definition?
A; The committee voted NO, however, it would be proper at A-1 as it complies with "Do your part of" type calls. The ending formation is "T" Bone Boxes.

(September/October 2015)
Q: Is Crossfire proper to call from Ocean waves?
A; The committee voted that it is proper to call Crossfire from Waves. The definition allows for this application however, the ending position is extremely unusual and the commitee cautions it use.

Diamond Chain Thru

(May 2014)
Q: The formation was Point to Point Diamonds. The call given was "Diamond Chain Thru."
A: This application was voted to be improper. The A-2 definition requires the very centers to Trade and then Cast Off 3/4 with the adjacent ends of the wave. This action is not possible from Point to Point Diamonds.

Diamond Circulate

(November 2000)
Q: Is it acceptable to call "Everybody do your part of a Diamond Circulate from a two-faced line?
A: Yes, at Advanced or beyond only. Too many callers have gotten too carried away with the "do your part" type choreography. Just because it might be proper does not make it good as this is too confusing and has severe timing and traffic pattern problems. We should not complicate calls unnecessarily. Why not simply call half-sashay and couples hinge.

Dixie Grand

(May 2013)
Q: The formation is 1/4 Tag. The call given was Dixie Grand, and the caller expected the dancers to step thru and begin the action with the outside dancers. Would this application be proper or improper at the Plus Program?
A: Improper. The correct application requires that the dancers in the center wave begin the action with their joined right hands. They should NOT start with the outside dancers. If the caller wants it to start with the outside dancers, it must be preceded with Pass Thru or Step Thru.

Do Paso

(May 2012)
Q: Is it proper or improper to call the following: From a Static Square (SS) or a circle, "Do Paso, turn partner left...turn corner right, men star left? In other words, break up or fractionalize the call Do Paso?
A: Improper. The call should not be fractionalized and it is one of our traditional calls that should be preserved in its true form.

Fold Family

(September/October 2004)
Q: From a #1 or #2 arrangement line (same sexes together), the call was "Boys/Girls, Cross Fold."
A: Improper. This action does not comply with the current published definition that states that the cross-folders must both be either centers or ends.

Follow Your Neighbor

(April 2002)
Q: Is it acceptable to call "Follow Your Neighbor" from a 1/4 Tag formation?
A: No. The reason being that this application does not comply with the CALLERLAB definition. This call must be done from a box circulate formation.

Grand Square

(March 2017)
Q: Given the 2 sequences below resulting in the starting formation for the Grand Square, is it proper to call Grand Square from this formation: Heads Square Thru; Split two around one to a line; Centers face; Grand Square And: Heads Pass Thru; Separate around two; Line up 4; Centers Face; Grand Square
A: ARC determined this to be improper. The current definition does not include starting formation of lines. The definition states: Starting formation: Squared Set (also see Comments). Comments section also refers to starting position as squared set. ARC’s mandate, unless otherwise requested, is to view the application through the lens of the program the call resides in, and in that regard, the members feel Grand Squares from Lines will create confusion.

Half Sashay

(May 2014)
Q: The formation was Right or Left Handed Ocean Waves. The call given was "Centers Half Sashay."
A: This application, as presented, was voted to be improper, as the definition for Half Sashay states that the starting formation is a Couple and dancers in a Mini Wave are NOT a Couple.
However, the ARC voted that it would be acceptable to call "Centers Nose-to-Nose or Face-to-Face Sashay" from an Ocean Wave.

Half Tag The Line

(April 2002)
Q: After the call "Half Tag" would it be proper to give facing directions (i.e., Right, Left, In, Out)?
A: Yes. The committee stresses that although it is proper to give facing directions, callers should refrain from using "in or out" at Mainstream & Plus without a workshop.

Left Concept

(September/October 2004)
Q: At which program do we expect the dancers to know the "Left" concept (i.e., Lead Left, Left Turn Thru, Left Box The Gnat, Left Trade By, etc.)?
A: Most MS dancers should be able to do these calls except "Left Trade By." If the dancers do not know how to do them or have never heard them, they should be work-shopped. A lot of GOOD caller judgment must be used when branching out into this area and it should NOT be taken too far.

Linear Cycle

(July 2006)
Q: Is it proper to call Linear Cycle from a Tidal Wave?
A: Yes. This was voted to be a proper use of the call as there are two ocean waves end to end in this formation
and it fits within the definition.

Load The Boat

(August 2003)
Q: Is it proper to fractionalize LOAD THE BOAT?
A: Yes. The definition clearly define's four parts for both Centers and Ends. It is pointed out that the timing is a real problem and callers should make themselves aware of this. Also, the ends wind up back to back with each other after the first three parts.

Mini-Busy

(July 2008)
Q: The formation is Ends Out Inverted Lines and the call given was Mini-Busy. Does this application comply with the CALLERLAB written A-2 definition?
A: NO. The committee voted this application is NOT proper. Reason: This does not comply with the definition. There is no couple facing out in the line and the extend in the center is not proper.

Mix

(November 2000)
Q: Is it proper to call "Mix" from any diamond formation?
A: Yes, but not below C-1. In the preface of the Advanced definitions it addresses this type ofsituation under the paragraph "When the entire formation is not there" however, the Committee felt it is very confusing as to where do the centers cross run to. Although it may be proper it should not be called without work shopping first. Also, many respected challenge callers are NOT using this.

Motivate

(July/August 2009)
Q: From Parallel Ocean Waves, after calling “Centers Box Counter Rotate,” would it be proper to call Motivate?
A: NO. Due to square breathing, the first circulate is not possible. However, if the caller immediately gives the caveat “Centers stay centers” (which would be for the first circulate_ then it would be proper. The caveat MUST be stated for this application to work.

Pair Off

(August 2003)
Q: Is it proper to call PAIR OFF from:
a. Lines Facing Out?
A: No. This Does Not Comply with the definition of "Facing Dancers".

b. Single File Right or Left Handed Columns?
A: No. This too, Does Not Comply with the definition of "Facing Dancers".

c. Double Pass Thru?
A: Yes. But, for the center dancers ONLY!! Only the center dancers can execute the call.

Pass The Ocean

(April 2002)
Q: Is it proper to call "Pass The Ocean and Roll?"
A: No. The definition states that after the pass thru and turning to face partner, dancers will "step into a right-hand ocean wave." Therefore a roll is not possible after stepping straight forward.

Ping Pong Circulate

(November 2000)
Q: Would it be proper to call "Ping Pong Circulate" from a formation that would be created from a static square and have the heads step to a wave?
A: NO. The Burleson Encyclopedia #2854 defines this exact action as "Ping Pong Trade" therefore it should not be called "Ping Pong Circulate." By definition Ping Pong Circulate starts and ends in a quarter tag formation, therefore the questionable usage should cease immediately!

(April 2002)
Q: Is it acceptable to call "Left Ping Pong Circulate" from a "Left 1/4 Tag" formation and expect all execution of the movement to be left handed?
A: No. It is not necessary to say "Left" however, callers may wish to use a term like "It's A Lefty" as helpful words for dancers that are un-familiar with this application.

(July/August 2005)
Q: The following call was used from a Quarter Tag formation; "Ping Pong Circulate 1 1/2" and the caller expected the dancers to end in parallel waves. Proper or Improper?
A: Improper. This call has been taught incorrectly by many callers in the past. It should NOT be fractionalized!! The definition states that each dancer will move forward one position along the path shown.

Promenade Family

(July/August 2005)
Q: The following calls were used from a Static Square: "Heads Square Thru Three, Face Right and Single File Promenade 1/4." After the dancers have executed the call "Single File Promenade Outside One Quarter", are they to remain in Single File or should they face in?
A: The last command was to promenade Single File and the dancers should stay in this formation until the next command is given. The definition states that the dancers will move forward around the circle as directed.

Relay The Deucey

(July 2006)
Q: Is it proper to call Relay The Deucey from Two-Faced Lines?
A: No. The ARC voted this to be improper as the definition states that the call is to be danced by hand/arm turns
and NOT a partner trade action.

(June 2008)
Q: Is it proper to call Relay The Deucey from a Tidal Wave?
A: NO. The committee voted this is improper because this application does not comply with the CALLERLAB written definitions.

(July/August 2009)
Q: Is it proper to fractionalize Relay the Deucey? Does this application comply with the CALLERLAB Plus Definition?
A: NO. The definition is a bit unclear about how many parts Relay the Duecey has but, it definitely does NOT have more than two parts.

(September/October 2015)
Q: The call given were; Heads Pass the Ocean and Heads (only) Relay The Deucey. The ending formation was a Quarter Tag. The caller said it was proper to call Relay The Deucey from a Single ocean wave.
A: The ARC voted that it is improper to call Relay the Deucey from a single wave. Neither the starting formation, nor the definition allow this application. The call is an 8 person call and the definition of Circulate would prevent this action.

Reverse Concept

(September/October 2004)

Q: At which program do we expect the dancers to know the "Reverse" concept (i.e., Reverse Rollaway, Reverse Half Sashay, Reverse Do Paso, Reverse Circle To A Line, In Reverse Order Right and Left Thru)?
A: This usage would not be expected until beyond the Plus Program however, some of them can be used at MS and Plus IF THE CALLER IS VERY CAREFUL TO NOT OVER USE THE CONCEPT!

(Anything) and Roll

(April 2002)
Q: Is it proper to call "Pass The Ocean and Roll?"
A: No. The definition states that after the pass thru and turning to face partner, dancers will "step into a right-hand ocean wave." Therefore a roll is not possible after stepping straight forward.

(May 2012)
Q: Is it proper to call: "Heads Lead Right, Circle to a Line and Roll."?
A: Yes, This is proper at Plus provided the dancers execute the call according to the definition. If other variations of Circle to a Line are used, it would not be proper. The only dancer that can Roll is the very end dancer going under the arch. There seems to be a problem all over the world with the call not being danced according to the definition due to differences in Styling. Callers are cautioned that this is an extreme application of this call.

(May 2014)
Q: The formation was a Completed Double Pass Thru. The calls given were "Cloverleaf and Roll."
A: This application was voted to be proper, as outlined herein. The definition of Anything and Roll is very clear as to who can or cannot Roll. Those who have turning motion as they complete their portion of the call can Roll. Dancers who are walking in a straight line at the completion of their portion of the call cannot Roll. Therefore, the Leaders of a Cloverleaf cannot Roll, but the Trailers can. It is suggested that callers help the dancers by calling "Cloverleaf &Trailers Roll."

Also, the following calls are proper, "Heads Pass Thru, Cloverleaf & Roll."

(September/October 2015)
Q: After "Spin Chain and Exchange the Gears", "Roll" was called expecting all dancers could roll, finishing Eight Chain Thru formation.
A: The ACR voted this proper to call Spin Chain and Exchange the Gears and Roll with the December 22, 2014 revision of Spin Chain and Exchange the Gears definition describing the Circulate path of the trailing dancer, allowing the trailing dancer to Roll.

Recycle

(May 2012)
Q: The formation is Facing Couples. At Advanced is it proper to call: "Reverse Recycle"?
A: Yes, this is proper in accordance with the Reverse Concept in the Advance program.

Run

(July 2008)
Q: The formation is Alamo Ring. The arrangement is boys adjacent and girls adjacent, all with right hands joined. The call given was Boys Run. The caller intended for the Boys to Trade. Does this application comply with the CALLERLAB written Basic definition?
A: NO. The committee voted this application is NOT proper. Reason: This application does not meet the written definition as there is no inactive dancer to run around. The call should simply be "Boys Trade."

Separate

(September/October 2004)
Q: From an Eight Chain Thru Formation, the call was given for the centers to"Separate Around One To A Line."
A: Improper. The dancers would have to separate twice to accomplish the desired results.

Shoot the Star

(July/August 2009)
Q: From a Thar Formation the calls given are: Slip the Clutch (move forward one person and with THAT person), Shoot the Star. Does this application comply with the CALLERLAB written Basic definition.
A: YES: The Committee further ruled that the Thar formation does not go away after a Slip the Clutch.

Slip

(May 2014)
Q: The formation was a Quarter Tag. The call given was "Slip." The combination of calls were "Heads Pass the Ocean, Ping Pong Circulate, Slip."
A: This application was voted to be proper. The A-2 definition states that Slip is an action to be done by the centers of a general line with the centers in a Mini-wave ONLY. There is only one general line in a Quarter Tag formation. Therefore, only the very centers in the Mini-wave can Trade. It would be helpful if the caller called "Center Wave Slip."
Q: The formation was a Column. The call given was "Centers Slip."
A: This application was voted to be improper as it does not comply with the A-2 definition. There is NO General Line in a Column.

Slip The Clutch

(July 2006)
Q: Is it proper to call Slip The Clutch from Parallel Waves?
A: No. This was ruled to be improper due to the definition stating that Slip The Clutch is to be used from Thar's
and Wrong Way Thar's.

Spin Chain Thru

(January 2000)
Q: Is it proper to "Spin Chain Thru" from an Alamo Ring?
A: No.

(October/November 2002)
Q: Would it be proper to call "Reverse Spin Chain Thru?"
A: No. The proper term would be "In Reverse Order" but should not be used at Mainstream norPlus. This type usage should only be for those dancers who are thoroughly familiar with that terminology.

(June 2008)
Q: Is it proper to call Spin Chain Thru from a Tidal Wave?
A: NO. The committee voted this is improper. This application does not comply with the CALLERLAB
written definitions.

(May 2014)
Q. The formation was Two-Faced-Line. The calls given were "Begin with a Partner Trade and Spin Chain Thru."
A. This application was voted to be improper as it does not comply with the MS definition. The starting and ending formation for Spin Chain Thru is Parallel Waves and NOT a Two-Faced-Line. The dance action describes Turns and NOT Trades.

Spin Chain The Gears

(June 2008)
Q: Is it proper to call Spin Chain The Gears from a Tidal Wave?
A: NO. The committee voted this is improper. This application does not comply with the CALLERLAB written definitions.

(May 2014)
Q: The formation was Two-Faced-Line. The calls given were "Begin with a Partner Trade and Spin Chain the Gears."
A: This application was voted to be improper, as it does not comply with the Plus definition. The starting and ending formation is Parallel Ocean Waves rather than Two-Faced-Lines. The definition states that the dancers Turn 1/2 and NOT Partner Trade. Also, the part that states "Four dancers on each side of the square now form a four-handed star and turn the star three-quarters" cannot be done as the dancers are in a Facing Diamond formation.

 

Spin Chain and Exchange The Gears

(June 2008)
Q: Is it proper to call Spin Chain and Exchange The Gears from a Tidal Wave?
A: NO. The committee voted this is improper. This application does not comply with the CALLERLAB written definitions.

(May 2014)
Q: The formation was Two-Faced-Line. The calls given were "Begin with a Partner Trade and Spin Chain and Exchange the Gears."
A: This application was voted to be improper as it does not comply with the Plus definition wherein it states that the starting formation is Parallel Ocean Waves and NOT Two-Faced-Lines. The first part of the call starts with the ends and adjacent centers Turn 1/2 and NOT Partner Trade. Also, the stars cannot be formed, as the dancers are in a Facing Diamond formation.

Spin The Top

(October/November 2002)
Q: Would it be proper to call "Reverse Spin The Top?"
A: No. There is a call, #190 in the Burleson Encyclopedia, named "Reverse The Top" that describes this very action. The consensus of the committee is that if this action is to be used (without workshopping the call Reverse The Top) it should be called "In Reverse Order, Spin The Top." The committee further recommends that this type action should NOT be used at MS and Plus as it is too confusing and difficult to comprehend.

(May 2014)
Q: The formation was Two-Faced-Line. The calls given were "Begin with a Partner Trade and Spin The Top."
A: This application was voted to be improper, as it does not comply with the MS definition. The starting and ending formation for Spin The Top is Ocean Wave. The definition states that the end and adjacent center Turn 1/2, NOT Partner Trade. There is no need to trick the dancers.

(Anything) and Spread

(March 2017)
Q: Is it proper to call Diamond Circulate and Spread at Plus? This is not covered in any of the 3 listed starting formations for "Anything and Spread”
A:
This was voted improper given the current definition, Diamonds are not included as a formation from where any of the 3 scenarios would apply:

(1) If only some of the dancers are directed to Spread (e.g., from a static square, Heads Star Thru & Spread), they slide apart sideways to become ends, as the inactive dancers step forward between them. ARC Comment: after a diamond circulate there are no inactive dancers.

(2) If the (Anything) call finishes in lines or waves (e.g., Follow Your Neighbor), the centers anticipate the Spread action by sliding apart sideways to become the new ends, while the original ends anticipate the Spread action by moving into the nearest center position. ARC Comments: Diamonds are not Lines or Waves.

(3) If the (Anything) call finishes in tandem couples (e.g., Wheel & Deal from a line of four), the lead dancers slide apart sideways, while the trailing dancers step forward between them.

ARC Comments: Diamonds are not Tandem couples.

 

Square Thru Family

(July/August 2005)
Q: The following calls were used from a Static Square: "Heads Square Thru Three, Face Right and Single File Promenade 1/4." After the Heads Square Thru Three, are they in the center of the square or further out on a squared set spot?
A: According to the current definitions, the dancers are still in the center of the square. However, it is possible to accomplish the above action with proper Command Timing of giving the succeeding call such as; "Heads/Sides Square Thru Three (on beat 4 or 5 give the next command) "Both Turn Right (rather than Face Right) and Single File Promenade Outside One Quarter."

(June 2008)
A: According to a new section in the preface of the Basic/Mainstream definitions (the Squared Set Convention), the dancers are further out on squared set spots?
 

Star Thru

(October/November 2002)
Q: Is it proper to call "Reverse Star Thru?"
A: No. There already exists, in the Advanced Definitions, the term "Left Star Thru" and there is no need to change. The term "Reverse Star Thru" tends to implicate one of two things; A) The lady should use her right hand and the man his left with the man going under the arch as the lady goes around and behind the man OR B) The action would cause the dancers to "undo" the Star Thru while going backward. The word "Reverse" means to go backward. This usage is NOT in the Mainstream nor Plus programs.

Sweep A Quarter

(January 2000)
Q: Is it proper to call "Sweep a Quarter" after Recycle?
A: Yes.

(April 2002)
Q: Is it proper to call "Sweep 1/4" after the following:
a. Swing Thru, Single Hinge, Sweep 1/4?
A: No.

b. From a Two Faced line - Bend The Line, Sweep 1/4?
A: No.

c. From a Two Faced line - Cast Off 3/4, Sweep 1/4?
A: Yes.

d. From facing lines of four - Touch 1/4, Sweep 1/4?
A: No.

e. Chain Down The Line, Sweep 1/4?
A: No.

To Sweep 1/4, the definition states that the starting formation is "facing couples in a circling movement (right or left)." CALLERLAB has pictorially defined a couple as two dancers sideby-side facing the same direction. Therefore all of the above applications do not fit within the definition except item "c").

(July/August 2005)
In 2002 the ARC reviewed Sweep 1/4 after five different calls and made the decision that they were all improper except as follows; From a Two Faced Line, the following calls were given: "Cast Off 3/4, Sweep 1/4." At the time of the review, this was voted to be proper.

Q: Is Cast Off 3/4, Sweep 1/4 proper?
A: NO. The committee voted this not meet the definition of Sweep 1/4. The action of Cast Off 3/4 is a pivoting action for the end dancer rather than a circling action as required.

(May 2012)
Q: The formation is Lines Facing Out. Is it proper to call: "Wheel and Deal, Sweep a Quarter." expecting all four couples to Sweep 1/4.
A: The decision of the ARC was that this is improper due to the fact that the center couples are the only ones that can execute the call as they are the only facing couples in accordance with the definition of Sweep 1/4. The outside couples are not facing couples. It would be proper at C-1 under the Concentric Concept.

Q: The formation is parallel Two Faced Lines. Is it proper to call: "Ferris Wheel, Sweep a Quarter." expecting all four couples to Sweep 1/4.
A: The ARC voted this to be improper due to the fact that the center couples are the only ones that can execute the call. They are facing couples and the outside couples are not. It would be proper at C-1 under the Concentric Concept.

(September/October 2015)
Q: Is it proper to call Sweep a Quarter after Recycle in Mainstream?
A: The ARC ruled that it is proper.

Swing Thru

(May 2014)
Q. The formation was Two-Faced Line. The calls given were "Begin with a Partner Trade and Swing Thru."
A. This application was voted to be improper. It does not comply with the Basic 2 definition which is described as starting from an Ocean Wave or Alamo formation and ending in the same formation as the starting formation. The definition also states that the dancers Turn 1/2 by the Right and NOT Partner Trade.

Tag The Line

(July/August 2011)
Q: The Formation is an Ocean Wave and the call given was "Tag the Line."
A: The ARC declared this to be a proper application due to the fact that an Ocean Wave is a general line in accordance with approved pictogram' s # 76 & 77.
Note: There are some applications of this call from Ocean Waves that do not dance well, and callers must make themselves aware of these. Body flow, hand positioning, and caller timing is very important to the success of this application.

Teacup Chain

(October/November 2002)

Q: Is it proper to call "All Rollaway, Head men center, Tea Cup Chain?"
A: Yes. The definition specifically states that this is proper. The committee discussed the question of whether it be proper to workshop this and then call it. There was agreement that this committee does NOT make decisions as to what should or should not be workshopped.

(July/August 2009)
Q: Would it be proper to call Teacup Chain from Facing Lines by designating who is to lead?
A: YES. This application works well from in-sequence lines but there was a problem from out-of- sequence lines as the ones making the stars got confused as to whom to go to.

Trade By

(September/October 2004)
Q: From an "Ends Out Inverted Line," (ends facing out & centers facing in) the call used was Trade By.
A: Improper. The definition states "the couples facing out do a partner trade." In this formation, the outfacing ends are ends only and NOT a couple.

(July 2006)
Q: Is it proper to call Trade By from a 3/4 Tag formation?.
A: Yes. The ARC voted this to be a proper application of the call as the Ocean Wave Rule applies.

(September/October 2015)
Q: The call was: Heads separate & Pass Thru (the Heads are now direvtly behind the Sides, facing out, shoulder to back "T" Bone) Everybody Trade By (the ending formation is Heads facing in, shoulder to front of Sides, "T" Bone). Is this proper formation to call Trade By from? The description the caller gave was "Those facing out Trade, those facing in Pass Thru." The Heads had to trade to the other end of the inverted line.
A: Improper: The definition states that Trade By must be done with Couples facing and Couples facing out. In this example, Heads would not be couples and therefore cound not trade.

Trade The Wave

(July 2011)
Q: The Formation is Alamo Style and the call given was "Trade the Wave."
A: This was voted by the ARC to be improper, as it does not comply with the CALLERLAB Plus defini-tion. There is no defining wave. Even with helping words to describe the action the dancers should execute, this would be considered a gimmick.

(September 2011)
Q: Is it proper to call Trade the Wave from a Thar formation?
A: The ARC declared that this application does not comply with the CALLERLAB Plus definition and would be improper at Plus. However, it would be proper at A-2 and should be called "All Eight Trade the Wave."

Transfer The Column

(September/October 2004)
Q: The call "Transfer The Column" was given from a Double Pass Thru Formation.
A: Improper. This action is in conflict with the intent of the definition.

(June 2008)
Q: The call Transfer The Column was given from a Completed Double Pass Thru formation. The Question is: Does this application comply with the written CALLERLAB A-1 definition?
A: NO. The committee voted this application does not comply with any written CALLERLAB definition (July 2008)

Q: From a Completed Double Pass Thru formation with zero arrangement, the calls given were Girls Peel Off and Transfer The Column. Does this application comply with the CALLERLAB written A-1 definition for Transfer The Column?
A: NO. The committee voted this application is NOT proper. Reason: This does not comply with the written definition. After the girls Peel Off, the Column does not exist any longer to describe the action of all four in the original column.

Triple Trade

(July 2006)
Q: Is it proper to call Triple Trade from a 3/4 Tag formation?
A: Yes. The ARC voted this to be a proper use of the call as three adjacent pairs of dancers can be identified.

(July 2006)
Q: Is it proper to call Triple Trade from Ocean Wave between two Mini Waves?
A: Yes. The ARC found this to be a proper use of the call as three adjacent pairs of dancers can be identified.

Wheel Thru (Left Wheel Thru)

(May 2013)
Q: The formation is Left Hand Ocean Wave. The call given was Wheel Thru and, Left Wheel Thru from a Right Hand Ocean Wave. Is this application proper or improper at the A-1 Program?
A: Improper. The Advanced General Rules specifically exclude this application. Under "Ocean Wave Rules" there is the following statement: "The Ocean Wave Rule applies ONLY to these Advanced calls." Wheel Thru is NOT listed.

Zoom

(January 2000)
Q: Is it proper to call "Zoom" from a Quarter Tag Formation?
A: No.

(July 2006)
Q: Is it proper to call Centers Zoom from Double Pass Thru formation?
A: No. The committee voted this to be improper. If the caller desires for everyone to Zoom, the call is simply "Zoom." If the caller wants the centers to Pass Thru the call should be simply "Pass Thru." If the caller uses Centers Zoom and expects the centers to Pass Thru, it is designed to trick the dancers and is destined for failure. The ARC strongly recommends that this call NOT be used at ANY program.

(May 2013)
Q: The formation was Left Hand Columns. The call given was Zoom 1 & 1/2 to end in parallel Right Hand Waves. Is this application proper or improper at the Basic 2 program?
A: Proper. The half-way point can be readily defined and seen by the dancers. The definition can easily be broken down to see where one-half would be. One-half Zoom is easily identifiable. Fractions are common extensions of calls where applicable. This application has been called by many callers and danced by many dancers all over the world for many years.